Gold Community Okay -- Your Turn
    > Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil
        > Banishment! a question of opinion
New Topic    Add Reply

<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Author Comment
Grumgarr
Here for a while
(1/14/03 7:48:24 am)
Reply
Banishment! a question of opinion
If you were a beastie from the lower planes, and you could Teleport without Error at will (like most Tannar'ri and Baatezu) and you were Banished (with the spell of th same name), would you be free to return on your next action?

Please opine!

The situation that prompted this question was a face-off with Hedrack and Barney the Hezrou vs. a weakened group of PCs.
The Hezrou got to do pretty much nothing, as it was Banished on the cleric's first action - great SR check, naff saving throw, so byee Barnee!

Now the Hezrou had been bound to perform a service with a Planar Ally spell, and had not collected its payment yet.
Could/would it return to see the bargain completed?

Grumgarr - who's glad it happened that way, but wonders what you'd rule as it could happen again

Dragon Mage 1E
Here for a while
(1/14/03 8:19:45 am)
Reply
Re: Banishment! a question of opinion
Teleport does not allow to travel through planes. So it could not return that way. Banishment is awesome against Outsiders. I guess that is one balancing factor to the powerful Planar Ally spells.

If you want to get nasty, Hedrack could cast Dimensional Anchor on his next Ally. I'm not sure if this works, I would be interested to hear others opinions.

"What the curtains?"

Grumgarr
Here for a while
(1/14/03 8:48:42 am)
Reply
Re: Banishment! a question of opinion
Thanks for the reply Dragon_Mage.
It's Teleport Without Error though (7th level spell) which >does< allow inter-planar travel...hence my question.

I'm skeptical though - maybe it's a hold-over from 2nd Edition but I thought that Demons et.al. could only enter the Prime plane if they were specifically summoned...this to nix the 'why isn't the world over-run with demons, if there are an infinite number of them?' argument.

I also have a sneaky suspicion that some higher level spell (Banishment is only Cleric4/Wizard5) includes a 'and cannot return' clause, which would imply a Banished creature could return...oh I don't know.

Grumgarr - who's just cast Confusion and foregone his Will save.

Dragon Mage 1E
Here for a while
(1/14/03 9:07:19 am)
Reply
Re: Banishment! a question of opinion
I just checked the SRD and Teleport no Error does NOT allow interplanar travel.

Dismissal and Banishment does not say anything about the victim not being able to return. However, Holy Word does stop them from returning for one day.

"What the curtains?"

Grumgarr
Here for a while
(1/14/03 9:18:25 am)
Reply
Re: Banishment! a question of opinion
Thanks. :) :D

That's cleared that up. I'm still clearing 2E cobwebs, I guess.

<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>

Add Reply

Email This To a Friend Email This To a Friend
Topic Control Image Topic Commands
Subscribe Click to receive email notification of replies
Unsubscribe Click to stop receiving email notification of replies
jump to:

- Okay -- Your Turn - Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil - Home -



Powered By ezboard® Ver. 7.238
Copyright ©1999-2003 ezboard, Inc.