Gold Community Okay -- Your Turn
    > Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil
        > Ehmmm
New Topic    Add Reply

<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Author Comment
Eltern
Here for a while
(3/10/03 1:50 pm)
Reply
Ehmmm
Well, I goofed with a big Fire Temple battle. Everyone was in the actual temple, with Tessimon on her FLOATING ALTAR OF DOOM (tm), the dwarven fighter with the kickbootie greataxe held, and the other 5 PCs slowly plowing through the salamanders, burning skeletons, and that tricky gnome-fellah. Well, anyway, they knocked off everybody except for Tessimon, who mysteriously went through the cieling on her altar, and decided to rest. Well about 5 minutes later Tessimon comes back and wastes them with some fireballs and an unholy blight. The party wizard dies. Big time (-22). Later, I find I made an error. Tessimon should have died before she ever got into the secret room above the altar. She had healed herself with a scroll while the battle was ensuing before she went up, and I thought it was a cure serious, but it was only a cure moderate. The difference in HP would have killed her (She got down to one before she got through the cieling). So, to fix this attrocity that cost a PC her life, I decided to make the scroll of Raise Dead a scroll of True Res.

So the end question is, can the party cleric of Wisdom 16 cast this scroll?

Eltern

ZansForCans 
Here for a while
(3/10/03 2:22 pm)
Reply
Re: Ehmmm
Don't think so. From the SRD:

{The user must have the requisite ability score.}

... to cast off a scroll. The caster level check rules are only if the caster levels are different (scroll caster level vs. actual user caster level). There's no comment that you get to do this if the ability isn't high enough.

I would guess that the rationale is that if you have the ability score, you have the potential to cast said spell, just not the experience. If you don't, you haven't a snowball's chance in the Fire Node...

Still, that would be worth a good chunk of change. And, if the cleric never gets there, it would be much cheaper to give it to some high cleric than to pay them for wasting their own prayer for the day. So it's not useless to them...


Group Editing & Authoring Support
flexible campaign management for the web
info :: demo

Andorax
Still here? Wow.
(3/10/03 2:43 pm)
Reply
Re: Ehmmm
There's another solution.


Cleric could just pray for Owl's Wisdom (Tome & Blood) the next time he has a chance to gain spells. A simple 2+ on a d4 will boost him from 16 to the requisite 19, then he can cast it, pending a successful caster level check.

"Whadda ya mean, Orcs get levels too?!?"

Infiniti2000
Still here? Wow.
(3/10/03 2:46 pm)
Reply
ezSupporter
Re: Ehmmm
No, the cleric cannot cast the scroll. However, do you allow the splat books? There is a spell called Owl's Wisdom that works like Bull's Strength for wisdom (1d4+1 enhancement bonus). The cleric can prepare that spell, enhance his wisdom to a 19, and then attempt to cast true rez off the scroll. Better yet, it would be a good idea to travel to Verbobonc and get a high level cleric to cast it off the scroll for a minimal fee (maybe 10gp/level). That way, they don't blow the caster level check, which would really suck.

Taxman66
Here for a while
(3/11/03 6:48 am)
Reply
Re: Ehmmm
How about a staff of True Res, with 1 charge left?

Taxman
"It takes an uncommon mind to think of these things, Hobbes." - Calvin

Ztyx
Looking around
(3/11/03 7:01 am)
Reply
Re: Ehmmm
Or a staff of true res with two charges, as penalty for a goof ;)

It would also make it feel less like a 'deus ex machina', and the stingy players (I assume you got one) would be less likely to mind using it if it wouldn't be lost.
Two charges is still small enough to not become a crutch or a regularly used tool, but there is the risk of it becoming treated as an extra life, which is a bad thing.

Eltern
Here for a while
(3/11/03 2:42 pm)
Reply
asd
Can someone refer me to where the books talk about caster level checks? Is it in the PHB or DMG?

Eltern

SSShadowcat7
Here for a while
(3/11/03 8:44 pm)
Reply
Re: asd
DMG page 203

The bulleted section on the left-hand column.

Quote:
The user must have the requisite ability score (for example, Intelligence 15 for a wizard casting a 5th level spell.

<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>

Add Reply

Email This To a Friend Email This To a Friend
Topic Control Image Topic Commands
Click to receive email notification of replies Click to receive email notification of replies
Click to stop receiving email notification of replies Click to stop receiving email notification of replies
jump to:

- Okay -- Your Turn - Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil - Home -



Powered By ezboard® Ver. 7.245e
Copyright ©1999-2003 ezboard, Inc.