Gold Community Okay -- Your Turn
    > Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil
        > False Sending
New Topic    Add Reply

<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Author Comment
Eltern
Here for a while
(4/29/03 6:36 pm)
Reply
False Sending
Hey there, one of the players in my campaign is going to use a False Sending (from the BoVD, basically a sending that appears to be from another source, very good when used correctly) to Hedrack, telling him to eliminate Thrommel. For those of you that have been reading "Outer Fane Happy," Thrommel is currently a loose cannon with an entourage of dominated lackeys carrying around his coffin, at this moment just leaving the CRM. The player is going to sign it "Three." Now, by this he means "The Third," but doesn't have the knowledge that "Three" is not really used. Even if Hedrack doesn't make the will save for the false sending and it works, I'm thinking he may not believe this message is genuine, anyway. What do you think he would do about that? Send a souped up message to the sender? I don't know. Especially since Hedrack was just IN the Inner Fane when he ran away from a rampaging Thrommel.

Oh, and I know this is rules, but: I'm thinking that if the target makes his will save for the False Sending, the spell just does not work. What do you think? Does he get it, but he knows who it's from? Or that it's fake? The second could be a nasty backlash.

Eltern

shidara
Here for a while
(4/30/03 9:19 am)
Reply
Re: False Sending
Have the caster make a Bluff check opposed by Hedrack's Sense Motive. Give Hedrack a bonus to his SM check for the incorrect signature, and there you go - Hedrack beats the player, he knows something's fishy. He fails, and he just shrugs, accepting the occasional inconsistency of those in direct contact with the Dark God.

A successful Will save means the victim is aware that the message is from a fraudulent source; the message itself is not protected or ensured in any way.

shidara

shidara
Here for a while
(4/30/03 9:24 am)
Reply
Re: False Sending
If Hedrack fails his Will save, but makes the Sense Motive check, I'd say he might send a message to The Third to confirm.

Thus:

Fails Will save, Fails Sense Motive Check: Hedrack accepts message as genuine, sighs, and starts gathering troops to try and kill/control Thrommel. Heh, he might even call up a Planar Ally for the assist, promising it all of Thrommel's possessions in excahnge for its service.

Fails Will Save, Makes SM check: Hedrack is suspicious of the message, and tries to verify or confirm the orders therein directly with the DDs.

Makes Will save, auto-passes SM check: Hedrack immediately tries to discover the sender and unleashes whatever he can upon them for the insult of impersonating so (un)holy a figure as one of the Triad.

Shidara

Eltern
Here for a while
(4/30/03 9:30 am)
Reply
Thanks
Ok, thanks. I'll inform the players that if he makes the save, he'll know it's from someone else, but doesn't know WHO exactly.

Eltern

Thrommel
Can't leave now (mod)
(4/30/03 9:38 am)
Reply
Re: Thanks
Why do you have to tell the players anything? Have they tried this strategy before? Do they know someone who's tried it before?

If they don't have any experience with it, let them sweat about what the risks are. You know what the answer is, that's what's important.

Magic should be a little mysterious, IMO. Sometimes rules-lawyering diminishes the fact that magic is just plain that: MAGICAL.

Alright, I've ground my axe for the day. Do whatever you like.

-Thrommel, who goes off to find someone or something to behead. Oh look! Puppies!

Zenon
Here for a while
(4/30/03 12:22 pm)
Reply
Re: Thanks
Don't have the BoVD in front of me right now, but if the spell is similar to Sending then Hedrack can question or clarify any strange sounding orders immediately. See the Bolded and Underlined text in the spell wording below:
Quote:
Sending
Evocation
Level: Clr 4, Sor/Wiz 5
Components: V, S, M/DF
Casting Time: 10 minutes
Range: See text
Target: One creature
Duration: 1 round (see text)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: No
The character contacts a particular creature with whom the character is familiar and sends a short message of twenty-five words or less to the subject. The subject recognizes the character if it knows the character. It can answer in like manner immediately. Creatures with Intelligence scores as low as 1 can understand the sending, though the subject’s ability to react is limited normally by its Intelligence. Even if the sending is received, the subject is not obligated to act upon it in any manner.
If the creature in question is not on the same plane of existence as the character is, there is a 5% chance that the sending does not arrive. (Local conditions on other planes may worsen this chance considerably, at the option of the DM.)


All I can say is you're a mighty nice DM for letting the players flip through the BoVD and pick spells from it. If one of mine tried that I'd have to slap them in the head with a dead fish.

Edited by: Zenon at: 4/30/03 12:24:38 pm
Taelohn
Here for a while
(4/30/03 1:22 pm)
Reply
False Sending
Quote:
False Sending
Illusion (Glamer)
Level: Clr 5, Sor/Wiz 6
Components: V, S, M/DF
Casting Time: 10 minutes
Range: See text
Target: One creature
Duration: 1 round (see text)
Saving Throw: Will negates
Spell Resistance: Yes

The caster contacts a particular creature with whom she is familar and sends a short message of twenty-five words or less to the subject. The subject is convinced that the sender of the message is someone other than the caster, as specified by the caster. The caster must also be familiar with the false sender. The subject can answer in like manner immediately. Creatures with Intelligence scores as low as 1 can understand the sending, though the subject's ability to react is limited normally by its Intelligence. Even if the sending is received, the subject creature is not obligated to act upon it in any manner.
If the creature in question is not on the same plane of existence as the caster, there is a 5% chance that the sending does not arrive. (Local conditions on other planes may worsen this chance considerably, at the option of the DM.)
Arcane Material Component: A short piece of corroded copper wire

Eltern
Here for a while
(4/30/03 3:24 pm)
Reply
BoVD
I don't own the BoVD. My player does. :b Kinda....difficult...to...control that. :D

And the response by the target will go TO THE CASTER, so yes, Hedrack can immediatley send a response to who he THINKS is the Third

Eltern

Caedrel
Here for a while
(4/30/03 11:59 pm)
Reply
Re: BoVD
It doesn't sound like the caster is familiar with the Third at all - in that case, wouldn't this part of the description mean that he can't send it to Hedrack?
Quote:
The caster must also be familiar with the false sender.


Killiak 
Here to stay
(5/1/03 9:07 am)
Reply
Re: BoVD
And that is where the Dm comes in; how to define familiar? Heard somebody say it, read it on a paper, saw him scuttle about when scrying........

ya know; Rule #0

Eltern
Here for a while
(5/1/03 3:34 pm)
Reply
oops
Holy Freaking Cow! How did I miss the familiarity issue? I would say that he would have to have cast scry on the third

Eltern

<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>

Add Reply

Email This To a Friend Email This To a Friend
Topic Control Image Topic Commands
Click to receive email notification of replies Click to receive email notification of replies
Click to stop receiving email notification of replies Click to stop receiving email notification of replies
jump to:

- Okay -- Your Turn - Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil - Home -



Powered By ezboard® Ver. 7.246g
Copyright ©1999-2003 ezboard, Inc.