Gold Community Okay -- Your Turn
    > Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil
        > Experience for Summoned Xorn?
New Topic    Add Reply

<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Author Comment
Chippy Hackee
Ebon Hand Cultist
(2/1/04 12:28 pm)
Reply
Experience for Summoned Xorn?

Does the party earn experience points for the Xorn from the Earth Temple, CRM 220?

Or does DMG pg. 166 apply?
"Do not award XP for creatures that enemies summon or otherwise add to their forces with magic powers."

Infiniti2000
Brother of Venom
(2/1/04 12:44 pm)
Reply
ezSupporter
Re: Experience for Summoned Xorn?
They earn experience points for it because it is summoned (though I say called) by the drum an the nature of the temple. The rule in the DMG applies to monsters summoned by the abilities/spells of the creature, such as summon monster III or summon nature's ally IV.

Even for a monster called by, say, a lesser planar ally spell, I would typically award XP. There's precedence for this in a WotC published work (Speaker in Dreams), though that was for summon monster.

Siobharek 
(2/2/04 4:43 am)
Reply
ezSupporter

Re: Experience for Summoned Xorn?
I'd say - and again, this is based on the Speaker in Dreams precedent - that if a monster is summoned/called in a suituation outside of combat, grant the XP for the critter. If, say, Eeridik summons a monster in the midst of combat, it's part of his attack capabilities, however.

Siobharek
...it is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.

<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>

Add Reply

Email This To a Friend Email This To a Friend
Topic Control Image Topic Commands
Click to receive email notification of replies Click to receive email notification of replies
Click to stop receiving email notification of replies Click to stop receiving email notification of replies
jump to:

- Okay -- Your Turn - Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil - Home -



Powered By ezboard® Ver. 7.32
Copyright ©1999-2005 ezboard, Inc.